The Committee

Steve Johnson

Steve has lived in Bexhill for over twenty years and settled here with his family largely because of their love for the De La Warr Pavilion. He is one of the founder members of Bexhill Heritage and has extensive experience as a charity trustee. His background is in local government (as an officer and a member), and in educational leadership and management. Steve currently works as an educational consultant and author.
Chairman, Trustee, Treasurer

Simon Allen

Studied law as a career and specialised in Criminal Law. However, he gained much experience and knowledge through the study of horology and has put that to good use in restoring public clocks in Bexhill. He was also brought up in a building family of Bexhill’s oldest established builder Bruce & Co and so has a wide knowledge of building construction and maintenance.
Vice Chairman, Trustee, Projects Coordinator

Alexis Markwick

Having worked professionally in the IT industry for over eight years around London, Alex took a career break to travel the world before returning to settle in Bexhill-on-Sea. He is currently involved with a number of local societies and projects, most notably the continuously evolving Bexhill OpenStreetMap website.
Trustee, IT Support Officer, Historian

David Beales BSc DipTP

Director of Planning and Property for many years in East Hertfordshire, following a similar post in Cambridgeshire. Previously appointed as a planning officer at Rother’s inception in 1974 and had senior roles at Lewes and Eastbourne. Was a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute until retirement.
Planning Officer

Yolanda Laybourne

A graduate of the Institut Francais in London, she moved to France and the United States to work with international legal and financial institutions before returning to England. For the past 20 years she has project-managed community regeneration programmes in Kent and East Sussex, and serves as a trustee for national and regional charities / not-for-profit organisations. She also holds executive positions with strategic transport and regeneration organisations.
East Parade Shelters Monitoring Team

Anthony E Lightly FRICS

Founder and senior partner in a Chartered Building Surveying practice in the City of York where he worked with Listed and Heritage Buildings and Conservation Areas for 25 years.
Chartered Building Surveyor

John Swap

Born in New Zealand. 30 year career in the London Fire Brigade to 2004 culminating as Group Commander of the Inter Agency Liaison Group, planning and responding to terrorist and other specialist threats. Managed the Logistics department of a national engineering company based in Eastbourne for the next 6 years. Moved to Bexhill in 1982.

Geoff Tompkins

Attended school in Bexhill, but left the town when he was 18 because it was full of old people! However the older he got, the more appealing it was to come back, so in 2017 he did so. He spent many years working as the Financial Director of an International Christian Music Ministry, and CEO of their music company, whilst previously running his own Internet Consultancy. Attending a local church, he is a founder member of the “Jesus loves Bexhill” group who regularly put on events in Bexhill.
Bandstand Events Coordinator

Lorraine Parkes

Committee Clerk

Christine Madeley

Membership Secretary


Consultant Architect: Iain Exley
Iain specialises in the creation of unique and beautiful homes. He is passionate about the preservation and use of traditional construction techniques and excited about contemporary and innovative design. A proud member of RIBA and ARB, and personally a member of the prestigious Art Workers Guild.

Historic Building Consultant: Lee Goubert Bsc(Hons)MSc GradCABE
Local building Development Surveyor who has lived in Bexhill for over 40 years. Undertakes surveys and design of new properties and alterations to existing buildings.
As well as complying with Building Regulation Plans, has a particular interest in the conservation and re-use of period properties in the Bexhill and St Leonards area.

Bexhill Museum Liaison Coordinator: David Hatherell

Sussex Day Coordinator, Transport Liaison, Marketing Supporter: Paul Lendon

Member volunteer opportunities

Committee: Secretary; Conservation Officer; Patron; Ambassador; Media and Marketing Officer.
Projects: East Parade Bandstand: Work is starting and we need skilled help on site and in the workshop, you can even work from your garden shed.
Refreshments: Provide drinks during our members meetings.
East Parade Shelter Monitoring: Regularly photographing and noting down any observations of litter, damage and graffiti to the listed shelters.
Planning: Assist team with observing and commenting on heritage related planning applications.
Local List: Identification and management of significant heritage assets.

Acknowledgements to our past committee members

Raymond Konyn: Founder, Chairman, Trustee
Emily Leach: Founder, Trustee
Jeanette Eason: Clerk
Claire Baldry: Heritage Hub
Keith Rhodes: Project Researcher
Tony Teehan: Secretary
Paul Wright: Member Representative